• 2 Post By lchauvin88
  • 1 Post By hook'em
  • 1 Post By Kefurr
  • 1 Post By BajaDan

Thread: Bow turnbuckle completed.

03 Baja Islander 242

Ignore User

Bow turnbuckle completed.

So when I bought my boat, the trailer didnt have a turnbuckle. I thought that was odd, and I shopped a few places for a 1/2" unit. But i was not satisfied with the junk on the shelves especially at the cost. I know not much can be had for cheap in the boat market. But come on, $35 for a galvanized made in China half ass made turnbuckle?

Nope. I Wasnt having it. Instead i used a 2" Wide 20k lb ratchet strap to hold the bow to the trailer along with the crank up winch. And it worked flawlessly. Except for looking like some red neck slapped together shit. But, eh function over form right?

A buddy of mine, also a machinist by trade, made a full stainless turnbuckle for his boat, over a few weeks, on lunch breaks and before work hours. I was impressed with his and decided I'd make one myself. It took a long time to complete it mostly because we had worked Damn near 16hr a day for weeks while trying to get the system back up and running, if you Hadnt seen the news Google n.o. Sewer and water board flood June 2017. I can explain if you guys want some back story otherwise, let's get on with the details and project.

I used 306 stainless steel for all the working components, the coupler nut, the all thread, the wing nut, the stop nut. The only thing that is steel is the Chicago eye nut and shackle. I did however, blast, prime and paint them white to match the trailer.

So I'll lay out some details, I lost ALOT of pics, or this thread would be longer.

I saw cut some round bar, faced it off in a 3 jaw lathe, drilled and tap 5/8"-11unc right hand on one side and left hand on the other.